Pattern Recognition

Home Forums Potpourri Pattern Recognition

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  hallenrm 2 weeks, 1 day ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

AdminCSEC
    Keymaster

It is a very useful skill! For a university student it can help solve new kind of problems using patterns learned elsewhere. We all use this skill, perhaps less often then we use our memory when writing for an examination.

I realised this fact, when i started playing a computer game called Mahajong on my PC (it has Ubuntu as its OS). The game is as follows:

Playing Mahjongg

You start with five levels of tiles which are stacked so some are covered up by the tiles on top. The harder the level you set in the Preferences dialog, the more tiles are covered when the game starts.
    The object of Mahjongg is to remove all the tiles from the game. To remove tiles you have to find matching pairs which look alike. A matching tile will usually have the same number of buttons or markings on it or will look similar to each other.
    As an example, the highlighted tile, in the figure below, has six buttons. The matching tile is the one which
    also has six buttons. The tile is on the right-hand end of the third row from the bottom and there is another near the top of the fourth row from the bottom. If you want to match the tile on the top level, you need to look for the tile with the same green bamboo symbols. Do you see a matching tile yet?
    There are three tiles, which are visible, that match the tile on the top level. Two are to the left and the lower right. The third one is on the top row, but you can’t remove that tile yet because the tile isn’t on the outside of the stack of tiles.

Mahjongg is played by clicking on two matching tiles that are then removed. Play continues until all the tiles are removed or there are no available pairs.